top of page

The Overnight

R.L. Stine



Amazon Summary:

From Goosebumps author R.L. Stine comes a spine-tingling tale of a night spent on Fear Island coming back to haunt a group of friends.

Della O’Connor joined the Outdoors Club to have adventures with her friends. So when their advisor can’t make it to the planned overnight excursion to Fear Island, she rallies her friends to make the trip on their own. Won’t it be more fun with no adults around?

But it doesn’t take long for the night to get out of hand. Della gets lost in the woods and then cornered by a dangerous stranger. She strikes back to save herself, and her friends vow to keep her violent secret.

But someone saw what Della did. And he’s threatening them all, forcing them back to Fear Island to find the evidence they forgot to bury...



FIRST REVIEW OF 2023!



My Review:

7/10



I was on vacation this past week, and I needed some books to read. I read They're Watching You, but I needed more. I don't know why but I thought "I really enjoy the Fear Street novels." And I realized there was one I hadn't read, but it was included in a bundle I bought. It was called The Overnight.

From the start I do like how each novel is relatively short. This series is like a bunch of novella's. This book was short enough, where I stayed up all night and finshed it the same day I started it. Too be fair, it is only 130 pages, but in these pages, a lot happens.

After the first two chapters, when they finally arrive on Fear Island, I was hooked. In the first half, there is a MURDER, ASSAULT, and TEENAGE ANTICS. Who doesn't love that combo? The story kept me on my toes the whole time, which caused me too stay up and finish it. The characters on the other hand, well this is a perfect segway into my next topic.

I really didn't care about the characters in this book. None of them were likeable, and I don't know if it's just that I didn't connect with any of them. There was no character development in any of them. And you would really think that after everything they had gone through, there would be some development. I don't blame this fully on the writing, because with only 130 pages, it is very hard to cram in a fully developed story-arc for each character. On the topic of writing, I enjoyed the actual story-line was well written and fun to read.

On the topic of story-lines I didn't know what was going to happen next. Some thing's caught me off guard, But there were some parts that were predictable and I could totally see coming. I mean, they are teenagers unsupervised, something bad is bound to happen.

I wasn't mad that I read this book, because I did enjoy it, but it isn't one I would put on my top 15 list. However, if you are a fan of:

- Friday the 13th

- I Know What You Did Last Summer

- Cabin In The Woods

This book will surely be up your alley.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page