top of page

Feinds on the Other Side

Vera Strange





Amazon summary:

Twelve-year-old Jamal has always lived in his twin brother, Malik’s, shadow. All he wants in the world is to know, just for one day, what it’s like to be his more popular, more talented, and more confident brother. So when a mysterious man named Dr. Facilier appears and offers Jamal the opportunity to do just that, Jamal jumps at the chance. But when he wakes up the next morning to find his dream has come true, he learns it comes at a terrible cost. There’s a reason people say “Never make a deal with the Shadow Man.” And Jamal is about to find out why.






My Review:

6/10



There is no question about how much I love the Disney Chills series. What’s not to love, they are scary, nasty paced, short, and have my favorite Disney Villains, except Jafar, which I am waiting on (Hint, hint, can Jafar be next?)

I really liked the Easter eggs that all Princess and the Frog fan’s would recognize. Like he walks past a restaurant called Tiana’s place. He also has a story with the same premise as Princess and the Frog. The only real character from the movie that was in the book was Dr. Faciller.

In Feinds on the Other Side, Dr. Faciler is so much cooler than I would’ve thought. Apparently he is over a century old. Who knew? Not I.

Another big reason I like this book series is because Vera Strange makes all the characters relatable. I personally couldn’t connect with this story because I am not a twin, so I wouldn’t know what it is like to be in someones shadow. But I could see myself being the kid in the story.

It wasn’t just that I couldn’t relate to the character, and moreso because not wasn’t intense and a page turner. It was kind of slow paced and it made it hard for me to enjoy.


OVERALL:

I feel like this book is less scary and less intense than the other Disney Chills books. The other Disney Chills books are for a higher reading level who can handle mature themes, and strong elements of fear. Whereas this was not scary and kind of bland the whole way through. It pains me to say this, but I wouldn’t recommend this book. I do love the authors work and how she can make something not scary, terrifying.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page