top of page

The Hawthorne Legacy:

Jennifer Lynn Barnes


Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games, perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.








Google Books summary:

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions - including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.


As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture - by any means necessary.







My review:


5/10



I don’t even know where to begin. I will start with some of the good things. Firstly, I love the WRITING of the book. Whenever the characters had to solve a puzzle, I felt like I was right there with them trying to help solve the puzzle. The author transports you into the book in a way that is different from other writers because she can make you want to solve the puzzle.

Now I have to go onto the negative, and there is quite a lot to say. Alright so let’s start with the release date. This book I think was released a little over a year after the first book in the series, The Inheritance Games, and I completely forgot what happened in the first book, and this book takes place right after the other book. I thought I would be able to pick this book up and kind of get a reminder of what happened in the first one. After a year things are kind of blurry. I think the author should have given the prologue dedicated to what happened previously, because I didn’t understand what was going on. I forgot who all the characters were and the role they play. Sure there are little tid-bits here and there but other than that I was drawing at a blank.



OVERALL:

I think this book was basically setting everything up for the third and final book in the series, The Final Gambit. It wasn’t that intense until the last 25% of the book.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page