top of page

Mean Girls: A Novel

Micol Ostow





Amazon Summary:

Cady Heron grew up home-schooled in Africa with scientist parents as her teachers, monkeys as her classmates and the African plains as her playground. But when her family moves to the suburbs of Illinois, she finds herself a stranger in a strange land: high school. With no prior research to guide her, Cady's forced to figure out North Shore High all on her own. Suddenly she finds herself sucked into Girl World as a new member of the social elite dubbed "The Plastics." Cady discovers that unlike the wild, Girl World doesn't have any rules--especially when you maybe, possibly, okay definitely, have a giant crush on their ruthless leader's ex-boyfriend. Turns out, life in high school might be even more brutal than a showdown on the Savannah.




My Review:

8/10

This is going to be a short one. I enjoyed this book for the most part. This book was what you would expect. And I mean this in a way where it was a novelization. Nothing more, nothing less. It was fun to read though. Preface: I am a huge fan of the movie Mean Girls, and when I found out there was a book based on it, I was very excited.

While reading this book, what I imagined was me being at the table read for Mean Girls. And I enjoyed that aspect of the novel. I enjoyed that part so much because I want to be an actor. (If you are a casting director or talent agent, hit me up). The narration in the writing also had me laughing. It was almost word for word from the movie. If I didn't have a TV and I read this, I would say I watched the movie. It was incredible.

Even though this book was extremely fun to read, I am not giving it a 10/10 because in some ways it was way too close to the movie, and I wanted something a little different at times.


OVERALL:

If you are a fan of Mean Girls, novelizations or just cheesy rom-coms this is a must read.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page