top of page

Pretty Little Liars: A Novel

Sara Shepard






Pretty Little Liars Fandom summary:


The series follows the lives of four girls – Spencer Hastings, Hanna Marin, Aria Montgomery, and Emily Fields – whose clique falls apart after the disappearance of their leader, Alison DiLaurentis. Three years later, when the girls are juniors in high school, Alison's body is found, and they begin receiving various messages from someone using the alias "A" who threatens to expose their secrets and get revenge.








My Review:

8/10


“Head’s up. I’m on a roll” -A



Foreword:

I watched the show Pretty Little Liars like 5 years ago, and recently decided it was time for a rewatch. So now as I am rewatching the show, I figured it was finally time to read the series.


Now Into the book:

Sara Shepard, the author Pretty Little Liars, is a marvelous author. Her writing is descriptive and written in a way that is easy to understand, which helps with painting a picture. This book is very different from the show, which I somewhat enjoyed. The author spends more time on each character’s complex and fleshes out the characters in a way that you can really get a feel for.


This book tackles serious issues . that a lot of people could be going through at any given time. It doesn’t just brush on the subjects, but really talks about them and how it affects people. For example, Hanna faces a serious eating disorder and the author really talks about it, and it explores the affects it can have on someone.


This book doesn’t have a lot of action in it, and I understand that there were 15 more books in the series for her to write, so the author had to space it out, but there could have been at least a little bit of action.



OVERALL:

I gave this book an 8 for two big reasons. Firstly was that the four girls don’t really interact with each other which was disappointing to say the least. The other reason I gave this book the rating was because it was slower than I would have liked. I like a lot of action in my books.

The best / main reason I liked this book is because the author knows how to plot a mystery meaning, she wrote it in a way where it sets up the next book, by leaving you wanting more.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page