top of page

Part of Your World

Liz Braswell









Amazon Summary:

What if Ariel had never defeated Ursula?


It's been five years since the infamous sea witch defeated the little mermaid...and took King Triton's life in the process. Ariel is now the voiceless queen of Atlantica, while Ursula runs Prince Eric's kingdom on land. But when Ariel discovers her father might still be alive, she finds herself returning to a world - and a prince - she never imagined she would see again.




My Review:


4/10




Let me start off by saying I have never watched The Little Mermaid, or in the book, la Sirenetta. Normally going into these books, the Disney Twisted Tales, I already know the characters, but in this book half of them were new to me (I didn't know who Vanessa was)

In case you didn't know, Vanessa is Ursula, the evil sea witch who used Ariel's voice and used a human shell to hide who she really was.


So I decided to watch the movie. It gave me some good background to the story. After understanding what happened previously, I dove back into the book. It started to make sense. If I hadn't watched the movie, I would have been lost until 1/3 of the way through the book which I feel is a problem to someone who never saw The Little Mermaid.


Liz Braswell is a very descriptive writer, and goers into extreme detail. I think this can be both good AND bad. This was a VERY VERY VERY long book, and if I was the editor, I could have taken out a third of the book. In my opinion, less can be more sometimes more.




OVERALL:

This book was not great. The ending was un-cinematic, and it was dragged out. Too long and takes up WAY too much shelf space. (Luckily I borrowed it from the library). I am a huge fan of this book series (I love Disney) but this book was a flop. It is mainly for a die-hard Little Mermaid fan, and a collector of the series.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page