top of page

I Like Me Better

Robby Weber




Amazon Summary:

A joyful summer romance that Jason June, New York Times bestselling author of Out of the Blue, calls "Swoon-worthy!”

This is not how soccer-star Zack Martin thought his summer would go. When the captain's prank means trouble for the whole squad, Zack’s left with no choice but to take one for the team and cover for him.

Now he’s trading parties and beach days for community service at a seaside conservation center—fair enough. But thanks to his new reputation, the cute intern, Chip, won’t even give him a shot. Still, Zack finds himself falling for Chip between dolphin encounters and shark costume disasters, which means he suddenly has way more on the line than he ever expected.

Zack may be good at winning on the field, but can he keep up the lie without losing himself?



My Review:

8/10


Time for another LGBTQ YA contemporary romance. And I am really excited to discuss this book.

One thing about this book to note, is that it's about athletes. During the time of reading this novel I was not an athlete (I am on one team right now). I didn't understand all the sports terminology. Reading this book though did make me want to join the volleyball team at my school. I'm not really going to talk about my sports career in this review but volleyball is one of the first team sports I've done in a while, since I am a runner. I do track, and my mindset is “It’s a race against myself.” Talking about people is the perfect segway to my next topic, characters.

The main character was instantly likable, and I was tied to him emotionally. He is an overall good person. It made me want to find the one. I want a relationship with someone who I care about and vice versa, and to love. Is that so much to ask? Their relationship is one for the books and I am still thinking about it even after the book is over. And the other boy in the story was also one I instantly liked. Everyone in this book was likable, except for the Team Captain, Ryan. Thinking about Ryan gives me the shivers. This book made me jealous of not having a serious relationship with anyone, but I am glad I can live vicariously through fictional characters (that’s normal right?).

I did end up really enjoying this book in the end, and if you are a fan of:

- Heartstopper

- Love Victor

- Sex Education

You should defenintly pick up a copy of this book.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page