top of page

A Twisted Trails Novel #1: The Midnight Manor

Fionna Cosgrove



Amazon Summary:

When a mysterious mist ruins your overnight driving plans, you and your mum are forced to take refuge at a run down, spider-web filled, in need of a good clean, creepy, old Mansion.

With more forks in the road than a chef’s cutlery drawer and enough twists to make you woozy, the Midnight Manor will test the limits of your bravery (and gag reflex). Will you watch your mum turn into a decaying, walking corpse before your very eyes, or will you, yourself, become prey to a night howler with ‘hanger’ issues.

Though there is a way out, where both you and your mum retain all of your limbs and unravel the mystery, the chances of you finding it are slim, but then again, stranger things have happened along this twisted trail of the Midnight Manor.




My Review

10/10


Firstly, this is the authors first ever published novel, and I got an early copy, and was so honored. It did take me a while to get this review posted, but I read this book months ago, and this was in my drafts. Just doing some editing. This author is incredible. Let me expand.

The author is Australian, and when she sent me a copy of this book for review, she said that there might be some differences in words we use in America, for example MOM is MUM and so on. I thought that would be a little difficult for me to switch the words, but I found it actually really easy. I didn't even notice it. Speaking of not noticing, let me talk about the story.

This was one of my first ever Choose Your Own Adventure (CYOA) books and I wasn't disappointed at all. This book was descriptive and easily painted a picture of the story in my head. It was actually really creepy for the age range suggested. Amazon says 7-12, but I would say 10-13 year old. If I was 11 and read this book, I would be scared. And being scared for me is fun. I love getting scared (except spiders. Never spiders).

After finishing the book, I gave Fionna a quote for her website and she used it. The quote sums up this review, so I will put it here, "With death around every corner, choose carefully and you might survive. The perfect scary CYOA (choose your own adventure) Middle Grade book from debut author - Fionna Cosgrove!".

If you or your child is a fan of:

- Marvel's What-if

- Locke and Key

- Goosebumps

Please read this book. You will be chilled.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page